• Layered

Votes: 4 57.1%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been commuting for a couple of years with the same - season specific gear.
Now that I have a new bike and plan to travel, I though I might want to rethink my gear strategy.
There loads of ADV 3 & 4 season riding sets - waterproof, insulated, vented ironman suits, but they seem cumbersome and pricey.
I recently bought the Scorpion EXO Yukon Jacket as it was 50% off. I find the construction beyond expectations, but its very heavy and stiff.
I can't see wearing it most of the year.

I've been wondering if I would be more comfortable with a layered strategy.
Full mesh summer jacket with upgraded pads, then add on top a (sacrificial) insulated jacket, with rain jacket on top.
{REV'IT! Eclipse Jacket + REI Co-op 650 Down Jacket 2.0 + REV'IT! Cyclone 2 H2O Rain Jacket}

I say sacrificial because having the puff and rain jacket on the outside would ruin them after a crash, but I think that would reduce the bulk and keep the armored jacket streamlined.
I would use a similar strategy for the pants.

I know Lindin Posket used a similar strategy with Adventure Spec when he rode Malle Moto at the Dakar.

Any thought / recommendations / experiences?

Scorpion EXO Yukon Jacket (for those interested)

·
Premium Member
1,269 Posts
I don't know about buying a jacket that is so huge that you can fit a down jacket under it.
For layering I have a couple of different Joe Rocket jackets that if needed when all the liners are zipped in that I can still fit some under Armour 4.0 stuff under.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't know about buying a jacket that is so huge that you can fit a down jacket under it.
For layering I have a couple of different Joe Rocket jackets that if needed when all the liners are zipped in that I can still fit some under Armour 4.0 stuff under.

To clarify, the down jacket would go over the mesh armored jacket. Then rain jacket on top.