Strom Trooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After riding dirt bikes for 15 years, I bought my first street bike, a 650K8 in January. Being in the snowy Rockies, I spent a few months farkling it out, and finally got on my first ever multi-day motorcycle trip in early April. Two weeks ago I returned from a 5 day, 1910 mile ride to break in my new bike. Had a few key waypoints, but the schedule and plan was 100% flexible, which was something I've never done before. Only returned home because of the impending blizzard. Had a bunch of fun, saw some amazing nature, and met some cool people.

Days 1-2:
Rode from Castle Rock, CO to Needles district of Canyonlands, camped near Newspaper Rock, and then rode through Blanding to Natural Bridges National Park. Went for a few short hikes, and then proceeded through Fry Canyon to Torrey.

This made setting up the tent after sunset a little less frustrating.

Campground was full so I squeezed in between some folks.

Newspaper Rock
Lots of olden day (AD. 000-700) writing telling everyone what was going on. Pretty much facebook from 2000 years ago.

Owachomo Bridge at Natural Bridges National Park

Fry Canyon, between Natural Bridges and Hanksville, UT.

Bridge over the Colorado at Hite, the northernmost tip of Lake Powell.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Days 2-3: Capitol Reef, Escalante Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon

Woke up in Torrey, rode through Capitol Reef NP on the Notom-Bullfrog road to the Burr Trail, which heads to Boulder and into Escalante Grand Staircase NP. Hit scenic hwy 12 to Bryce Canyon. Ended up sleeping in Page, AZ.

The folds of Capitol Reef. I took a back road from Fruita to Boulder (Utah!).

Leaving Fruita on the Notom road. It shortly turned to dirt/sand.

Entering the park via the back way.

Some passers by took my photo!

Turning from Notom-Bullfrog Rd to Burr Trail.