StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...Ride it like something in between?

Hi everybody, I'm new to the v-strom....just picked up a 2004 Vee a couple weeks ago, and I'm really enjoying the bike.

Having spent the last 10+ years on a sport bike though has me experimenting with riding style a little. On my sport bike I've always leaned into the turn essentially leading with my head and inside shoulder....sometimes hanging off, sometimes not, but always leaning my body into the turn.

I've only ever ridden a dirt bike a couple times but my understanding is with those your body stays more upright and you lean the bike underneath you.

Since hoping on the Vee, I've been mostly just staying straight up and down with the bike, but have been experimenting a bit the last few days with more of a dirt bike style, and it sure feels like the bike likes it although its completely unnatural for me.

So I'm kinda curious what do you guys do and why?

·
Premium Member
4,218 Posts
I came from a cruiser to the Vee, so i am sticking with the more upright position. I like being able to stand on the pegs now to go over a bump or to adjust my seating position, that wasn't possible to do with my cruiser.

The bars on the Vee are just slightly forward, but not annoyingly so. I contemplated some pull back risers, but think i will just not bother with it.

My left hand does tend to ache after a while on the Vee, not sure if it's because the grip is smaller, or it's just in a perfect position to pinch a nerve someplace. I thought maybe it was the tension on the clutch, but after messing with it a bit that doesn't seem to be the problem.

·
Registered
654 Posts