StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a pair of Alpinestars SPS gloves that have blown out a seam after about 2 years of reasonably light-ish use. I'm not all that happy that they're gone, but am trying to figure out what to replace them with.

I've got a set of gauntlet gloves with heat, and one without, but for summer riding, I'd really like another short cuff glove.

As much as I like having armor on a glove, I'm beginning to wonder whether a really good, solid leather glove might be a better bet, and wonder whether the protection compares well on something like the Lee Parks deerskin or Aerostitch elkskin ropers.

Anyone have any experience with these as to actual protection versus a glove with some hard armor pieces to it?

Thanks...

·
Registered
275 Posts
I've been using the Aerostich Elkskin Ropers for many years. Best 3 season glove out there IMHO. If or when I need another pair, I will get the natural color. I've been caught in some real frog chokers and the black dye will stain your hands.

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What about protection in a get-off? I need my hands to work for me to earn a living and not starve... concerned about getting used to gloves with no padding, let alone hard bits and pieces.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Can't help ya with that question, never had the opportunity to try doing pushups while sliding down the asphalt. Seriously though, they are a substantial material for sure, but if you want extra padding, these ain't it.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I've read that gloves with that hard plastic "skeleton" can actually injure you more when it snaps and jabs into your skin... Then again, with regular gloves you could just as easily lose a finger.