StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... going to pick a brand new DL650 tomorrow.

I have been driving cars for the last 30 years, but after hiring a scooter on a vacation in Spain, I feel for it.

Being 2m tall (something like 6'6 I think), I am quite limited on what to chose as most bikes simply are to small for me. I have been test driving BMW F700gs, Honda ST1300, Suzuki DL650. I was also sitting on a 1200GSA, Honda Africa Twin which are also quite big, But test driving the DL650 made certain that I wanted it. Easy handling, cost efficient, fun bike.

As this is a new bike, I want to break it in correctly. Any recommandations for this? Test driving it was a bit has for me to figure out which RPM's the bike likes as there are quite a lot of noise driving a bike compared to driving a car.

Speaking of noise. Wind noise is quite much on this bike being 2m tall. Any recommandations for a windscreen that is optimal for us tall riders on a DL650?

The bike comes as standard. I would like decent but inexpensive topbox, panniers and what else would be generel needed for an MC. What can you recommend, and where to buy (in EU)?

Is this an attractive bike for thieves? I mean... how well should I guard it?

Anything else to recommend for a Newbee on a DL650?

Regards, Lars.

·
Premium Member
1,239 Posts
Hello and welcome to the group!

The manual has breakin procedures if I recall. Just follow them.

Most people replace the OEM windscreen. I went wit the Givi Airflow and it was a big improvement.

I went cheap for the side cases, but I LOVE them, they are the Givi E22, or the Kappa K22n. Small top loading boxes that hold all the basics. I also went with a E460 Givi top case and keyed all three boxes alike for one key access.

I don't believe the DL650 is a high theft bike, but I'm not sure in the EU.

Tips; install an H4 wiring harness from Eastern Beaver, add heated grips and handguards, and enjoy!

·
Registered