StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a pretty big bloke and as such went to increase the preload on the rear shock

My understanding is that the adjustment knob should turn around two and a half to three revolutions for the full range of preload settings.

I am not sure on what mine was set at but about 6 turns later I was still able to keep adjusting (in the clockwise or increased preload direction)

Is this normal?

Can you over adjust (in general, not to suit rider preferences)

Apologies if this topic has been flogged in the past but I am new to my Strom and this forum

Cheers

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,049 Posts
It's closer to 30 revolutions for the full range. I forget exactly how many. There are five height lines around the shock body at maximum extension.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks guys

I will recheck in the day light

good night from Perth

·
Registered
3,329 Posts
Keep turning and turning and turning and turning and turning while you curse the evil SOB designer who tucked the knob into an area where it's impossible to get a good grip on the knob and every tiny 1/4 turn will bruise your knuckles...

Yeah, it'll stop when you get to the end, and it takes a lot of turns. Still beats dealing with the old threaded preload collars with a hammer and punch.

You can also remove the knob (careful, there's a washer, spring and a ball that will fly out and vanish forever) and use an 8mm socket or t-handle driver.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Quote fm Greywolf:
"There are five height lines around the shock body at maximum extension."

My Wee rear shock body shows 2 lines, with approx 1/16" above & below each line. I think this equates to a setting of #3.