StromTrooper banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The other day I loosened the rear axle nuts and tightened the chain(so I thought). I tightened the axle nuts on both sides to 70 lbs. well I checked the chain again and it seemed loose still.

So tonite I went to loosen the rear axle nuts to tighten my chain again and they won't loosen. My son tried to help and it's like the nuts are on so tight they won't budge. I dunno what we're doing wrong.

My question is, can we still ride the bike even though we don't know how tight or how much torque it is on each side?? Will it mess something up further?

Thanks

·
Registered
72 Posts
I am no expert and I have a Wee not a glee (I think in terms of chain adjustment they might be somewhat similar) but I'll give you my $ 0.02.

- You mentioned that you tightened the chain... did you measure and leave the appropriate slack....for the Wee its somewhere between 2-3cm with the bike on the centerstand.

If not my theory is that the chain might have been too tight and thus the axle bolt is now not perpendicular to the swing arms causing the axle nut to pinch the washer/swing arm.

I might have read somewhere on this forum that the manual recommended 70lbs-ft might be too high. In any case, I say go to town on that nut pull it out and check to see if the threads are still okay and re-adjust the chain.

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
YOU'RE going to need leverage to break the bolts loose. the wrenches and exstension in the bikes tool kit are not sufficient. the chain is better to be loose than tight. 1-1.5" slack in the chain is what i run. Too tight and it will "whine" and probably do some damage.

·
Registered
300 Posts