StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there one?

I'm a total newb to it and for the longest time I was under the impression it had to do with the pre-load on top of the triangle.

However, after reading a bunch on it (I am squirrely in my front end), It occurs to me that I was under the wrong impression of what the procedure really is.

So my total newb question is, is there a tutorial, with pics, for people like me who don't have a damn clue what they are doing, but are decent with a wrench?

I just don't want to F this all up is all.

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Uhh, NM. I used my eyes, brain, and mechanical ability. Not to mention a measuring tape, and a 10mm wrench...

·
Registered
184 Posts
For those who still want fork raising tutorial...

There should be some info on the site regarding the process.

Here's a hint for people searching for something on any particular website. Go to google, type "site:" into the search box, immediately followed by the name of the website you want to search, then a space, then type in the keywords. Google will then search only that website for your keywords. Your search on stromtrooper.com for fork raising might look like this, for example:

site:stromtrooper.com raise forks raising forks

In any case, raising the forks is easy. You simply rig up the bike so that the front end can't sag (a center stand is a good starting point), then loosen the clamps that hold the left and right fork in place, then move the fork shafts up in the clamp and re-tighten. Exactly how you raise them, or conversely let the bike sag down and therefore slide the forks upward through the clamps, is up to you. Raising them about 15 mm seems to be the sweet spot.

HOWEVER, if your front end is squirrely, as you say, I would check a lot of other things first.