Strom Trooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok so here's the story: I began having problems with my bike one day, it wouldn't start, was completely dead, the 30 a green fuse was blown, I replaced it with the spare one but it blew again even before I could try to start the bike.

I got some suggestions that it might be the R/R and I saw a thread from Greywolf explaining the advantages of replacing the OEM one with this MOSFET one. I bought and installed easily and now the bike is running right again, so, I decided to post this thread to show anyone interested how I did it and also to get some feedback as I'm kind of new with this matters. (Also, sorry if my English is not so good, I'll do my best...

I recommend you take a look to Graywolf's thread about the performance of the MOSFET R/R,

Also I recommend you also see the guide that donstrom6 published here, it was very helpful for me!

I bought the new MOSFET with Jack in this page. I bought the super mosfet kit, thanks to Jack for an excellent service and fast shipment, I got it in Mexico City in just 4 days.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Part 1: Disassemble

Remove the screws marked with red, remove the gray lid and you then have free access to the Regulator Rectifier (R/R)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Cut the wires

Cut the wires that come from the old R/R (you can just cut the wires that go to the black connector, you won't be needing the white one, in fact, you will need to wrap the white connector that remains on the bike to prevent any loose connection).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Remove the stock bracket