StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen numerous references in various different threads about some unused/capped connectors on V-stroms as they come from the factory. Heated grip wiring, auxilliary wiring, etc., are just some of the things I've seen referenced. So, how many of such connectors are there? Where are they all located? I'm an electrical novice; so, for what can they be used? I'm assuming they can be used for any accessory one wants. This would be an easy way for me to forego running additional wire in the future. I placed this in this forum because I own a 2017 DL650 XT.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Eastern Beaver is your friend. They have excellent reputation, solid engineering and a ready-made solution to providing power to your accessories--switched or unswitched.

Not avoiding your query, just forwarding some potentially useful information. There are unused plugs available on Stroms for items such as heated grips, etc. that were not factory installed. Those are still an option, but the pre-engineered solutions available make these tasks much easier.

·
Registered
235 Posts
+1 for eastern Beaver. I ran their stuff on my previous Vstrom, bought some non bike specific things for other bikes I've owned, and am currently running their stuff on my current vstrom.

They have connectors that use those unused plugs, and also a few things that split off from current plugs (for example, if you want a switched relay, they have one that ties into the break lights I believe)

I might even put their little Beaver power sticker on my saddlebag!

·
Registered
470 Posts
I'm assuming they can be used for any accessory one wants.
You have to look at the size of the fuse that protects the circuit you're tapping into. You can't overload the fuse.