StromTrooper banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

After 6 years of riding a 2006 GSXR 600 I think I'm ready to change (after I've got everything how I want it of course). I have taken it on what I consider "long" trips of around 800-900 miles. Boy is it an uncomfortable trip! I started looking at sport touring bikes (like the bmw's and FJR style). Then a friend of mine bought a dirt bike, and I rode it (first time ever on a dirt bike), so I started looking at dual purpose bikes, but they just look uncomfortable for longer rides. I finally came across the adventure style bikes, and I think that is where I want to be. I know it will be a huge change from a sportbike, obvious lack of power being my only real complaint I guess (not having ridden an adventure type bike yet). I was pretty well hooked on the Triumph Tiger 800, then somebody mentioned the V-Strom.

I have some background of the image of a Strom in my head. When I first saw them, I thought, what an UGLY bike! I would never buy one! And on one of those 800+ mile trips I took with a small group, one of the guys had one. He never complained about comfort, and made fun of us needing to find a gas station so frequently. The only complaint I heard was him trying to keep up a couple of times.

So here I am, considering a Strom. I've looked at aftermarket parts, and it looks pretty good with them all installed. I guess the main thing keeping me from pull the trigger on it is the color available in the US, I'd much prefer white. (plus, I have to sell the GSXR first). There is a company that rents v-stroms near me, I was thinking about doing that for a couple days and see how it goes. But that's also $280...

·
Registered
189 Posts
I sold my kawi z750s and bought an 05 wee. I took the z750s all over, Blue ridge parkway, deals gap, lake placid NY. I thought I would miss the power.
But once I got on the wee......... Ah, comfort. Handles just fine for touring.