StromTrooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 45,000 miles on my 07 DL-650. Lately it has been burning oil, at a rate of about 1/2 liter per 1,000 miles. I'm riding it a bit more aggressively, up-shifting at around 7k or 8k instead of my previous usual of 5.5k, so I'm not sure if that is contributing to the oil consumption.

Also, the last time I had the throttle bodies synced was last June (about 11,000 miles ago) and I'm not convinced they truly were synced; the two notes you hear during idling didn't quite sound even to me (can you tell I'm not a master mechanic?)

Which brings me to a novice mechanic question ... is syncing the throttle bodies the same as getting the valves checked? I don't think they're the same thing but I want to verify that. If they're different, I don't recall the last time I had the valves checked.

At 45,000 otherwise trouble-free miles, are there any major engine service events I should be considering?

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
Throttle bodies are part of the fuel injection system, valves are part of the actual engine... Valves open and close to let gas/air mixture and exhaust gases in and out of the engine... So to answer your question, no they are not the same thing... Check you manual to see what maintenance is needed at your current mileage...
As far as oil loss... V-stroms are known to lose some oil if they are run for any length of time at high speed...

By the way.... Throttle bodies themselves don't really make any sound (that you can hear over engine clatter anyway)... I think you mean valves?

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Throttle bodies are part of the fuel injection system, valves are part of the actual engine... Valves open and close to let gas/air mixture and exhaust gases in and out of the engine... So to answer your question, no they are not the same thing.

Check you manual to see what maintenance is needed at your current mileage.