StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to these new fangled bikes with fuel injection and multiple cylinders. The valves were checked recently but what should I be on the lookout for?

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
I hate to break it to you but I think the 2005 has carbs. Check the tires and brakes and all fluids at least (but you did that before the sale right?)

• Haha
  • Angry
Reactions: sparky80 and Gert

·
Administrator
Queensland, Australia
10,074 Posts
A recent valve check is a indication of a good PO.
The V-Strom 650 has evolved over the years and has no stand out, must check, potential faults.
Therefore check the usual - pitting of fork tubes or fork seal leaks, condition of the chain and sprockets, tires, oil leaks etc. People often comment that the engine seems noisy to them, but that is normal.
Has it been sitting unused in recent months? Check inside the tank for rust.

If you are buying privately pay attention to the owner and his home/garage. That will tell you a lot.
A bike presented poorly is also most likely maintained poorly.

·
Registered
2007 V-Strom 650
696 Posts
I'm always sceptical of a seller when they say "recent" valve check, major service, etc. Unless you have some documentation such as the clearance numbers written down and/or receipts for the work/parts I figure it's just sales talk.
Sort of like every VW for sale has just had a "recent" timing belt and wapterpump installed. The more difficult/expensive the service the more likely the seller to have claimed to have done the needed maintenance. Usually it's just seller BS.
Unless there is documentation or the seller is very believable I consider the the service/maintenance still on the "to do" schedule.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·