StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those using Pelican boxes as your side-cases, have you noticed that your boxes get sweaty inside near the metal screws?

I know Houston is more humid than most of the country, but I sprayed the thing down with a hose and it didn't get wet, but if I open it up in the morning theres dew and some droplets settled in the bottom corner from the metal screws.

I covered them completely w/ silicon to no avail. Any ideas, or should I just try to insulate them even better, and if so w/ what?

·
Premium Member
606 Posts
Both sides or just the exhaust side?
How about some of those dehumidifier packets?

·
Registered
576 Posts
Humidity

Humid air trapped inside the air-tight boxes will probably condense as the night temps drop, especially around the metal screws which should be colder than the plastic.

I'm no scientist. Heck, I don't even have pelicans, but that'd be my guess.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Humid air trapped inside the air-tight boxes will probably condense as the night temps drop, especially around the metal screws which should be colder than the plastic.

I'm no scientist. Heck, I don't even have pelicans, but that'd be my guess.
Yuppers, that would be the reason. It's condensation, forming from within, not moisture getting in from outside.... Well, *technically* it come in with the air you close in it, which, of course, came from outside, but..... What was the question again??

Oh! Right humidity... Yeah, it's just humidity condensing inside the box. Dessicants will help, but only until they become saturated too.

·
Registered
336 Posts
I have to say that I have never noticed my Pelicans forming any condensation inside of them. And I live in a very humid climate (Maryland).

Kindest Regards,

-Will

·
Registered
74 Posts
I have pelicans and have never noticed any moisture from condensation or other.

·
Registered
41 Posts