StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had the issues I have read about with clearance on turns with the Pat Walsh Crash Bars installed on the stock DL650? They currently are offering the following setup for $379.99. Is that a good price for what you get? I was considering purchasing and would really appreciate some input. Any better options in your opinion would also be helpful. Thanks again!

Pat Walsh Crash Bar System PLUS - DL650

Fits model years 2004+
*Includes:
Side Crash Bars
Front Cross Bar
Bottom Skid Plate
Front Engine Shield
Stainless Steel Hardware Kit

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I've been riding with mine installed for a couple of years now and have scraped peg feelers but not scraped any part of the Pat Walsh skidplate or bars. But then again I'm also running with a Richland Rick's peg lowering kit. That being said I don't scrape pegs very often at all.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Does this system protect the plastics and if so as well and/or better than the other options out there?

Dumb question but I am new to crash bars. What are the peg feelers?

·
Registered
527 Posts
I don't know if there's a comprehensive "crash results" study but I've never scraped my PWD set up. My understanding of peg feelers...and the ones I've seen...are small metal extensions of the peg, pointing down off the end of the peg...to give the rider a warning before the actual hard parts start scraping.

I like the look of some other set ups a little better but the ability to add highway pegs, lighting, and the flat bottom are functionally good. I can use the flat bottom of the PWD unit to lift the bike with.

·
Registered
99 Posts