StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was hoping someone can tell me if I just messed up my new 2019 V Strom. It was on it;s center stand and I started it. when i pushed it off I (somehow) pulled the throttle and it revved out big time! I am still breaking it in and it was cold as well. I have around 850 miles on it and going by the book as far as break-in. It only redlined for a secound, but like i said....It was cold and I am not supposed to take it over 7000 rpm's for another couple hundred miles.

Thanks for your comments..I am new at this.

·
Registered
222 Posts
My guess is that's not the first time your motor has been revved up high. They probably did that same thing testing it in the factory to make sure it was running right and ready to install in a frame.

I wouldn't worry about it, and I'm NOT a 'ride- it- like -you -stole -it' kinda guy.

.............shu

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Shouldn't cause any problems. Sustained high rpm when new can be a problem, a short burst generally won't do any harm.

·
Premium Member
895 Posts
I'd bet a scientist would have a hard time telling you did that.

·
Registered
3,231 Posts
it will be fine, Suzuki red lines them at the factory with 0 miles on them :) The break in isn't just about the engine, it's about giving the pads time to seat, tires scrub in, find anything missed in the initial setup, for you to get used to the bike etc. It's a way for Suzuki and the dealer to reduce liability.

·
Registered
722 Posts
I was hoping someone can tell me if I just messed up my new 2019 V Strom. It was on it;s center stand and I started it. when i pushed it off I (somehow) pulled the throttle and it revved out big time! I am still breaking it in and it was cold as well. I have around 850 miles on it and going by the book as far as break-in. It only redlined for a secound, but like i said....It was cold and I am not supposed to take it over 7000 rpm's for another couple hundred miles.