StromTrooper banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure these questions have been asked many times before but I'm new here so here goes. First, Is the maintenance on a wee within the reach of an average garage mechanic? I've been riding a KLR for 6 years now and have learned to enjoy the valve adjusting and doohickey replacement and all the rest. Any special tools or skills needed? Second, I feel silly for asking this but some stroms have silver wheels, most seem to have black ones. Is this year/model specific or is it a owner/custom thing? (BTW which color is faster?) Thanks

·
$tromtrooper
2,378 Posts
...First, Is the maintenance on a wee within the reach of an average garage mechanic? I've been riding a KLR for 6 years now and have learned to enjoy the valve adjusting and doohickey replacement and all the rest. Any special tools or skills needed?...
I am often surprised at how few tools are actually required - I am seldom required to go beyond basic a Craftsman socket set, hex sockets, and combo wrenches, plus some larger sizes for axle removal. Getting into steering head and frame work will require a few more specialty bits. Oh, and fork damping rod removal requires a special tool, or simple workaround. Oh, oh, one of the cover bolts to access the front sprocket is deep with limited clearance. You should be fine.

Is the V-Strom maintenance intensive?

...Second, I feel silly for asking this but some stroms have silver wheels, most seem to have black ones. Is this year/model specific or is it a owner/custom thing?...
Both. Some early owners stripped and polished their rims. Some recent models (maybe some older ones, too, I don't recall) are silver from the factory. Early models had silver frames/swingarms, too.

DL650 Through the Years!

...(BTW which color is faster?) Thanks