StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had the '13 Wee for almost a year now (maybe it's time to name it?). I ride daily, rain or shine, from the 20s to the 90s here in GA and yesterday was my first time spending any real time in the dirt. Sure there was some on the honeymoon last June but that was 2-up and geared-up.

Yesterday, in the Cohutta Wilderness of N. Georgia I discovered what I'd been missing... DIRT!

After riding 80 miles from ATL I hit the forest service roads. I probably covered 50 miles of dirt, 10 of which were easy-moderate OHV trails.

Now, I have no crash bars, no skid plate, and I'm running a Shinko 705 front and Anakee 3 rear combo. I'm a total noob but the grip on the groomed forest service roads was really good. I probably kept it to 20-30mph for the first 1/3 of the trip until the OHV trails where I had to slow down. After three wipe outs (the Anakees turn into racing slicks when they hit mud) I needed to adjust the clutch lever assembly and discovered the one tool I needed (8mil crescent) was the ONE tool I "borrowed" for another project (won't do that again.) I waived down a group dads and their teen sons (dads were on KLRs and the teens were on 250-400cc dualsports) for the 2 minute repair and to get my hand guard back on, then I watched them TEAR OFF down the trail... So I start thinking to myself "hmmm... ? I wonder if my rubber can do more?"

I aired down about 10psi then... took off like a ROCKET. I used to race mountain bikes and while the Wee is WAY bigger than anything I've raced, the physics are similar. My body position became more correct for dirt, the wheel wiggles started feeling familiar and even total slip-outs started to be managed in stride. I realized that I was MADE for this! I ended up averaging... well let's just say I might have been close to highway speeds here an there.