StromTrooper banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to the V-Strom and to the adventure bike realm in general. Really enjoying my DL1000, though. And it feels great to be back in the saddle after having to park my Intruder a few years ago.

A buddy and I are setting the groundwork for a run at the Pan-American Highway in a couple years. One of the things I'd like to do soon is an off-road training course. I've seen the Black Swan Moto and Rawhyde webpages, but was wondering if any of ya'll knew of a similar course in the Kansas City area...or at least something here in the Midwest.

Thanks!
--Ryan

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
I'm relatively new to the V-Strom and to the adventure bike realm in general. Really enjoying my DL1000, though. And it feels great to be back in the saddle after having to park my Intruder a few years ago.

A buddy and I are setting the groundwork for a run at the Pan-American Highway in a couple years. One of the things I'd like to do soon is an off-road training course. I've seen the Black Swan Moto and Rawhyde webpages, but was wondering if any of ya'll knew of a similar course in the Kansas City area...or at least something here in the Midwest.

Thanks!
--Ryan

If your an off road newbie you would be better off learning on a small (250ish) dirt bike.

The Strom is a big top heavy bike and not a good choice to acquire dirt skills.

·
Adventure Traveler
285 Posts

Thanks!
--Ryan
I've taken MSF's "DirtBike School" in Warrensburg, MO at the Missouri Safety Center on the campus of University of Central Missouri. I think I did it in 2012 or 2013.

It was a pretty basic but good class, just me & the instructor, a full 8 hours of standing up on the pegs doing off road drills. I used their bike, a Yamaha 250 dual sport (I don't remember the model). After the class I bought myself a 2013 Honda CRF250L to continue practicing.