StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am constantly surprised by the road holding/handling of stock tyres on road but have concerns about them on loose gravelly roads. So question- how do the knobbies go on road and do they suffer or hamper bikes handling? Suggestions for tyres?

·
Registered
220 Posts
knobbies

I have a lot of experience in 21/18 inch wheels with knobbies, but limited with 19/17.

The consensus is that the more aggressive the pattern the less distance they last.

I will be trying some Mitas E07 on my DL650 next. They are a good 50/50 road trail tyre and seem to last well.

Kenda big block tyres are more aggressive but may not last as well

Many riders like the Dunlop 606 in the rear ( 17 inch available)

I tried the MitasE09 on my DRZ. The rear was acceptable, the front hopeless in sand but OK otherwise.

I hope this helps. Oh I read somewhere that the 140/17 is a better idea compared to a 150/17 for dirt use.

·
Banned
1,121 Posts
I am constantly surprised by the road holding/handling of stock tyres on road but have concerns about them on loose gravelly roads. So question- how do the knobbies go on road and do they suffer or hamper bikes handling? Suggestions for tyres?
Have the Kenda K784 Big Block tyres fitted, have had them on now for ages and they are wearing quite well, given they are a 60% Road/40% Off-Road compound/tread.

They are about the most aggressive "knobby" tyres that you can get for a 19/17" adventure bike combo (alongside the Continental TKC80), so I expected some limitations to their road characteristics, as they sacrifice some road ability for off-road ability.

What surprised me the most was how good they actually handle the tarmac! :yikes: I have never had an issue where I felt they were substandard, and I have given them a good run on twisty roads :thumbup:

Of course off-road they are awesome, give you so much confidence on hard packed dirt, soft/sandy corners and over rocks.