StromTrooper banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 165 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to put some good pipes on my DL1000. Riding out here in Southern California can be dicey sometimes, and ever since I started riding my V strom it seems traffic has gotten worse. Then I remembered that my last bike was loud, and after watching another bike nearly get run over at night (I actually didn't see him, or hear him, I just heard his little bike horn) I decided I need my loud pipes again.
Does anyone have some good suggestions?

·
Premium Member
695 Posts
My suggestion: Don't rely on exhaust pipe noise to keep you safe.

·
Registered
2,452 Posts
2 Brothers pipes without the tip are supposed to be quite loud. They have a sound clip on the site for a TL1000, very similar.

There's a youtube video on modding the stock setup if you can weld. Search Modify VStrom Exhaust and you should find it.

And don't rely on loud pipes to keep you safe.

·
Registered
4,760 Posts
Two Brothers M2 without the sound reducing power tips would do the trick for you, believe me. I put 'em on mine, and they were too loud, I ended up buying the inserts that drop the noise level by 7-8 DB, made em much nicer. You can add or remove the inserts in a few minutes with a torx, so you have a choice. I'm still deciding if I like em or not, PM me if you're intersted maybe they'll be for sale this summer. I have three video clips on youtube if you search for dl1000 exhaust upgrade.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Sound is directional. Plus pipes project the sound behind you, how will that keep you safe. I prefer to use riding skill and paying attention to keep me safe. If letting people know that some idiot with loud pipes just went by, like I do every time one does than just run straight pipes like the Harley crew does, we know how much everyone loves them. Personaly I am trying to quiet mine down.

·
Registered
3,416 Posts