StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to Suzuki except for a TM I owned in the 70's. I've been riding since I was 7 years old raced dirt bikes as a kid and owned bikes until my late 20's, then had kids and fell out of riding. Got back in in my mid 30's and have been riding ever since. Mostly Harley touring bikes, old BMW air heads and k75's and dirt bikes for the track and woods. I now own a Harley roadglide and a BMW r1100rt. I've gotten bored of the big Harley and still like my BMW but want to go off road and don't trust buying a BMW GS because of reliability. I just want to ride. The vstrom caught my eye with its V twin, light weight and something that can go long distance without worries of breaking down 2000 miles from home and gets good gas mileage, sounds to good to be true. That's my first question, is it to good to be true? What year is the best? I would like to buy an older one, a cheap one to start out to test the waters. I found an 05 with 40,000 miles for $2500 with bags engine guards, skid plate, brush guards and Sargent seat. It has some scratches and you can tell it's been off road. Is that a good price for a 40,000 mile bike. Or should I move up in years and price. Is there a classified on this sight to buy seems like people here would take care of there bikes better than trade in's at bike shops. Sorry for long post but any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
64 Posts