StromTrooper banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i would like to put a cigarette lighter or what ever on my wee to charge my phone or power my future heated liner. i have little experience with motos. Could anyone help me or lead me in the right direction? thanks so much. brad:headbang:

·
Registered
112 Posts

·
Registered
2,505 Posts
i would like to put a cigarette lighter or what ever on my wee to charge my phone or power my future heated liner. i have little experience with motos. Could anyone help me or lead me in the right direction? thanks so much. brad:headbang:
I went through a similar route for powering a GPS.
You need to be more specific. Powering a mobile phone requires 5V and low current (2A fuse will be enough). It can also be located under the seat or on the handle bar.
With heating I have no experience but it would take more amps and location is different.

Maybe my thread could help you:
http://www.stromtrooper.com/techy-world-gps-electronics-etc/62192-advice-needed-gps-wiring.html

You don't need a fuse box to do this (I don't), an inline fuse is just as good.
A fuse box is good for:
1. Having more than 3 accessories, because there is a physical limit (screw height) to how many terminals can be hooked up to the battery
2. Making it nice and tidy to maintain

I currently have installed:
1. The stebel horn
2. GPS Charger (12V->5v), SAE connector to 12V Cigar socket to Garmin OEM charger. Works super great, a very versatile/modular and cheap solution.
3. Battery Tender Charger (external battery charger), SAE connector

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
There are cigarette lighter sockets with weatherproof covers from Casco (Wal*Mart), boating supply stores have Marinco and West Marine has their own, and Powerlet brand standard cigarette lighter sockets.