StromTrooper banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, the basics: I've been riding for over 40 years, but this is my first Suzuki. I started out riding Honda's, and was satisfied, considering what are bikes were like then, compared to now. I seldom strayed (tho I had a fun 74 Bultaco Matador when I lived in Montana), but I never had a motorcycle that I was really content with. Like many of us here, I was always on the prowl, searching for that "perfect" bike, trying to find one bike that would meet all my riding needs. Even back then, I had a tendency to go with the "Moto" or scrambler style of bike.

In 1985, I totaled ( :yikes: locked it up) a brand new Honda Saber with on 125 miles on it. I was extremely lucky and walked away from the accident, and even tho they replaced the bike and I got right back on it, I just never felt comfortable in the heavy traffic that we have in the Twin Cities, so in '87, I sold my bike, and for the first time since high school, I was without a 2 wheeler. This lasted until 2002 when I read about the BMW 1150RT and the linked ABS (yes, I liked it!), and bought my first BMW. A few years ago, I started to experience health problems that caused me to downsize my bike for something easier to handle, and I bought an 09 F650gs Twin. Now, don't give me a bad time - it was/is a great bike, but I wasn't riding it enough to justify having it sit in my garage, reminding me everyday how much money I had invested.

So, a few months ago, once again, I decided it was time to downsize, and buy a bike that I wouldn't feel so guilty about neglecting. For three months I searched near and far for either an older F650gs Single or an older Tiger. I was pretty specific in what I wanted to buy. I did buy an 01 BMW R1100RL that was a beautiful bike and lots of fun to ride, but it was not a good physical fit.