StromTrooper banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to jump on this and I will be looking at other posts for my issues but so many are from so many years ago and I am new to the Strom, so here goes, but I just purchased a 2007 DL1000(6 days ago). has 27K on it.. I am the third owner. the day after I bought it.. decided to take it for a ride. 4hrs no big deal, didnt notice too much, the ride was fine except for one part on the way home where it had trouble starting, but it managed alright.

decided that based on the lack of information from the previous owner about issues or maintenance , that I should start fresh and look at all the usual things, air box , spark, oil, chain, chain... etc. replaced and updated all those things, it needed plugs (purchased some, low temp was all that was available here in AK) , found a destroyed rear bearing, replaced that, front fork seal is going, parts are coming for that. so I figured this thing had been run kinda hard.

so parts replaced, I am feeling better. go for a ride.. the issues creep in. The first hour to 2 are great.. suddenly, as I am coming down in gears to stop.. engine sputters, back fires and stop... start it, runs... then stops.. start it again, throttle it it runs so long as im above 3K. shit... drive it to gas station... needed gas anyway, let it sit, put the higher octane in it.. start it up, no issues the whole way home. (ghost in the shell? maybe a dirty tank or fuel filter?) next day, start it and its running fine. 1 hour into the ride, same issue creeps in.. sputters , feels like its not firing unless I'm at 4k RPM and even then its still running rough.