StromTrooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2007 Vee...PO said he had his GPS wired directly, but I dont have much info other than that. I found this (see pics) looks like a relay and says 12V on it. Thick Red Wire goes to the pos terminal, and has an inline fuse. The small black wire goes to the neg terminal, there is also another small red wire that goes into one of the small fuse boxes about 4 inches in front of the battery. Is that something that makes it for switched power only? Im not that good with electrical. decent, not great.

There is an open terminal on the relay. Is that what I wire a 12v outlet to? ANY other info you have on this setup would be great. Is it setup right? Can it support a 12V outlet, AND a direct gps connect?

Attachments

·
Registered
56 Posts
It is a relay......
looks like you could run a wire from the bare terminal and that it would have power when the key is turned on

Can it support a 12V outlet, AND a direct gps connect?

it would work for a 12v outlet and it could power a gps but (direct) connection?? it would not be hot all the time. only when the key is on

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So, should I just wire up a 12v outlet and be done with it? That way I can plug inthe gps, and even my phone charger if needed? Any advantage to wiring the gps up directly with it being switched power?

·
Registered
56 Posts
just run the (pos) lead from your 12V outlet to the empty spade on the relay and the (neg) lead from your 12V outlet to a good ground.
the 12V outlet will be hot with the key on

as for running the gps to a hot all the time source. there are both good and bad points. if it is hot all the time you can program it with out having the key on, but if you forget and leave it on it will run the battery down. I have mine so it is only hot with the key on. but the choice is up to you

·
Registered
340 Posts