StromTrooper banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I just bought an 02 Vee with 7800 miles on it, I plan on using it for a long trip in a few weeks, and I was wondering what you think I ought to do/check to make sure it will make it through the trip.

What I have so far:
1. New tires (ordered)
2. Oil Change
3. Coolant change
4. Check on and lubricate chain

What else do you experts suggest? I am new to newer bikes.

Thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
19 Posts
I would add bleed brakes and clutch and then do an overall bolt check on everything possible. Next would be clean the chain with kerosene, adjust and lube. After that it would be air filter and running some FI cleaner thru it. Try to put 2-300 miles on it closer to home before venturing out too far. Congrats on the new to you low mileage Vee...:thumbup:

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
5. Upgrade suspension - Sonic springs up front, Sasquatch rebuild out back. Might not be time before your trip, but it's worth mentioning.

Only 7,800 miles in 9 years? :yikes:

What kind of soulless freak only rides a bike less than 1,000 miles a year? :confused:

Make sure you install new valve stems along with the tires.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the advice, guys.
Any must have Farkles? I am going to ride it from DC to Indianapolis for MotoGP in a few weeks.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Make sure you have a really good tool kit.
Make sure you have a way of fixing flats roadside.
Make sure you have roadside coverage and decent insurance.
Make sure you have adequate riding gear.
Consider fuel range and spare gas can / container.

·
Registered
9,972 Posts
order