StromTrooper banner

New to ADV, based in Portland Oregon

3K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  Hatchi 
#1 ·
Good morning,

I've been commuting year round for nearly a decade, but never offroad or even more than a couple short trips down very short gravel roads/driveways.

Now that I've picked up a K5 Vee I'd like to expand that a bit. At the same time I'd feel better starting small, since were out of SE Portland I'm thinking up the fire roads off 224 out past Estacada might turn the trick, but maybe the accumulated dwisdom here can point me in another direction..?

Thanks in advance, stay safe out there.

Torm

#2 ·
Welcome to the site. I’m sure some folks from out that way will chip I’m excited in soon. What were you riding before?

#4 ·
What were you riding before?

I've been riding the ZRX since late '14, I moved to it after cooking the top end of the '87 Intruder 700 I started riding in 2008, I loved the cruiser but when I sat on the Rex I had to get it.

I enjoy riding on the street and commuting on a bike is generally the highlight of my day, but I've always had light ADV riding in the corner of my mind and neither of my bikes thusfar were comfortable with that sort of experimentation. So I'm looking forward to seeing where I can go with a more willing machine.

#3 ·
Yes Welcome

I too am new to the Adv bike world and also the Northwest having moved here in July of 2017. I actually had not ridden for about 4 years as could no longer stand the traffic in SOCAL.

I have admired the V Stroms for many years and figured it would be the best type of bike for this part of the country. To be honest I personally have no intent of taking mine off road and with that in mind just installed a set of Michelin Pilot Road 4 Trail tires as I was looking for the best handling "road" tire I could find for the bike.

So while I won't be joining you on your off road adventures I wish you well with them.

Ride safe and watch for the critters...

#5 ·