StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi folks, long time lurker here, and about to be newly fledged member as well :)

I've been seriously thinking of getting a "Wee-Strom" for over a year now, as a change from the Kawasaki VN750 cruiser I've been riding for almost 4 years. After spending a few months comparing and sitting on (but not riding) similar bikes like the Kawasaki Versys or BMW F650.

After a while, I decided ABS brakes would be a must on my next bike, which killed the Versys for me (I don't plan on riding off-road), and just liked the looks of the 'strom over the BMW, including the tach/speedo gauges (also, it's cheaper and has dual discs in front versus the single disc). And with me having a 34" inseam, it seems the most comfortable for longer distance riding.

Finally, as a daily city commuter I'd been put off from the 'Strom as "too big" to maneuver easily in and out of traffic, but after an accident I've decided to reduce my city riding... And to reduce my temptation to be "nimble" in traffic as well. Much more of my riding now will be of the touring variety, so the larger, heavier Wee-strom is now a plus in this regard.

Anyway, after the 2012 models were announced, I waited to see what the changes were; after seeing it I was impressed, but also impressed by the idea of spending thousands of bucks less on a late model bike with ABS. The 2012s are hard to come by still where I am, and run well over $9,000 after all the taxes and fees and a few must-have additions like a centerstand. Instead, I've decided to go for a low-mileage 2011 Wee for nearly $3,000 less.

My only remaining concern is that I've not actually ridden a Wee-strom yet, though I have sat on a stationary one and found it very comfortable. But not sure what I can do about that, really.