StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I just purchased an 04 DL650 and have been enjoying this forum and learning A LOT!!

I'm new to riding a motorcycle and the V-Strom came highly recommended by the experienced riders in my office.

I live in Northern Virginia, though it’s highly suburban, less than an hour from here are the beginnings of the Appalachian mountains.

As far as the bike goes it has some useful mods. The previous owner(s) were serious enough (bike has 22k) to upgrade to a Sargent seat. I'm a big guy 6'2" and 250 lbs. and the Sargent seat is sweet!

I do notice a lot of front dive on braking or even coming off the throttle...probably a function of my weight. The front forks are adjusted to within 1 notch of the stiffest setting. BTW what kind of tool do you use to turn those, does it take a lot of effort?

I added grip puppies, (my hands match the rest of me) and yes I did make the newbie mistake of backing out the handlebar end screw all the way and yes I did have to fish out the pieces, good thing I had recently purchased a magnetic pick up tool. <g>

I saw in a previous post, that a fork brace is recommended, why? What does it do for the bike?

Glad to be here, seems like a really friendly group of folks.

Bruce

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
I do notice a lot of front dive on braking or even coming off the throttle...probably a function of my weight. The front forks are adjusted to within 1 notch of the stiffest setting. BTW what kind of tool do you use to turn those, does it take a lot of effort?