StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I've been riding various bikes for a few years (roughly 19). Every few years I get the urge to switch bikes. Been riding a night rod special for a few years. It's a great bike.

Last year I lost by best friend that I rode with almost daily. Since then everything has changed with the crowd I ride with. I'm the youngest of the group and I just can't relate to them much anymore. I find myself riding alone more than anything.

So some guys I know got some dual sports. I had one years ago and it was great. Not great for long rides tho. Anyhow for the past couple months I contemplated a dual sport. Did tons of research and decided on a KLR 650. A local dealer has a bunch so I went in to make a deal. They are a HD dealer too so they will give me enough for my vrod. I kept seeing this odd looking bike beside the KLRs but there was no info on it. I all but decided to make the deal on a 17 used klr. Then a few days later the dealer had a new ad out. One of the bikes was a 2015 vstrom 650 for $4690. So I went back in to check it out. Turns out it's a brand new leftover. So what the heck, I take it for a spin. Wow! What a fun, practical, comfortable bike. And brand new!! So I gave them a deposit to hold it while I'm traveling for business all week. The deal is basically $5000 out the door. I think that's pretty dang good. Going to pick it up Saturday. Can't wait!

So get ready for all the stupid newb questions!!! Haha.

I will be off roading the bike a little, within reason. So some 50/50 tires will be needed. And I want heated grips, a top box big enough for a case of beer, crash bars.... you know how it goes. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the warm welcome! I felt like it was a good deal - hearing it from you guys makes me feel even better. I can't wait to get it dirty!

·
Registered
14,218 Posts