StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
As I am getting older, I feel it's time to limit my time on sport bikes and focus more on touring & daytrips. I just sold one of the 3 sportbikes I currently own and thinking about selling another one (apparently keeping one for the short stints) . Looking to replace it with a budget all rounder. My background is mostly sport-riding (some street, a lot of track/racing). The DL650 was tested and is now out of the question, need a bit more oomph. This is where the DL1000 2002-2010 comes in, as I am on a tight budget.

Given that:
1- I do tend to push my bikes from time to time, mostly in the twisties, not a highway fan. Nothing psychotic, just good cornering speeds where it's possible without becoming a public danger.
2- I have no experience with Vstroms, Varaderos etc, apart from 5 min test rides which don't tend to reveal the cornering weaknesses of the bike. Most of my experience with this type of bikes revolves around the likes of 1290SA/GT, Multristrada, GS1250/1200 etc. (which are very nice but out of budget).
3- the tours I take with friends (bikes mentioned above) are usually at a brisk pace. As I said, not into breaking the sound barrier, just enjoying twisty back roads.

Hence, I have zero concerns about the power for any bike with 100+hp; my concerns are mostly handling-related. I did some test rides and reading on the model issues et al. If I actually get one, I intend to change springs (front & rear). Maybe, if I am not happy, I will also test a fork brace for more rigidity in the corner entry or quick changes in direction. Dirt riding will be kept at a minimum, maybe an occasional flat dirt road. So off-road ability is not an issue.

Questions: