StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been using a Garmin 2730 since 2005 that is getting iffy. I don't want to spend the $$ for the Zumo 6**, etc and am considering a Nuvi 550 or one like the Nuvi 2555.
I have several questions:
I like the 5" screen on the newer Nuvis but realize they aren't waterproof. Is this a serious problem?
I understand the 550 doesn't give audio instructions-not sure this is a big deal but am used to it on the 2730. Is there an audio jack on the 2555 for this purpose?
I'm concerned about the battery life-Garmin claims 8 hours on the 550 and 2 hours on the 2555. The battery on the 550 is readily accessible and could be easily swapped for a charged one.
I understand the charging plug on both these units have some problems-serious?

TIA Ian, Iowa

·
Registered
279 Posts
I picked up the Zumo 220, recently. I love it. Also, I went down on dirt road and slammed and spun the bike pretty hard. The device is doing just fine.

·
Registered
279 Posts
The deal breaker for me, bikes and Nuvis is the inability to turn off auto recalculate. The object of these bikes is to plan a route in MapSource and go where you planned. Autorecal is a pain in the ADV ass.

·
Premium Member
729 Posts
I used a 550 Zumo since 2008 & it served me well, till last Sept., when it got crazy screen. I was gonna get a digitizer off Ebay, till I found a Nuvi 1350 with lifetime maps marked down to $104.00.
After I started using it, I decided not to repair the 550, that it's software was "primitive".
I'll never pay big money for a GPS again, electronics just evolve to rapidly. I paid $575 for the 550 and feel it didn't earn it's oats, long enough.
I'll suffer with whatever drawbacks the 1350 throws at me, for what it cost and if it poops the bed, getting wet of whatever, I'll cross that bridge.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #5