StromTrooper banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
New Bikes, New Adventures (PICS)

Hello all,
Im new to the group, and new to Slab riding. Ive been riding since I was 7 years old, and have done some motocross, and trail riding. The past few years I have been racing hare scrambles, and enduro type of stuff here in AZ.

About a year and a half ago, I hurt my left hand in a table saw accident, and lost most of the use of my pointer, middle and ring finger. I was unable to hold onto handlebars, much less even try and grab or pull a clutch lever. I still have no feeling in those fingers. I have had marked improvement over the past few months, and so was on the prowl to get some new bikes. (I sold my other racing stuff, as I knew my racing, and singletrack days were over.)

I also turned 40, so maybe a midlife crisis hit in. I had this wanderlust that couldnt be filled. After talking with the wife, we agreed on a budget for a new bike. I started looking, and before long I found a clean, pristeen XR650R for my dirt needs. I also currently own a KDX200, but it is all apart undergoing a full bottom-end replacement.

2 weeks later, I come across a 2004 WEE, and bought it. I've ridden to work everyday. I dread getting into the suburban, or even worse, the mini-van. But, kids gotta go places.

Anyway, here is a pic of the 2 in the stable:

I've had a few short "trips", but nothing ove about 120 miles. I did end up in Globe, az one night after leaving Mesa at 930pm. I told the wife, "Im going for a ride". She said,"Be safe, I'll be iin the studio..." (She is a glass artist aming other things). A while later, I found myself in Globe, hungry, with nothing open except a gas station. A quick phonecall, a soda, and bag of cashews found me back on the road, headed home.