StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sorry if I don't know where to post this question. I just purchased a Garmin nuvi 2455LMT and I downloaded the mapsource program from Garmin. The mapsource software does not come with any maps. How do I get maps into this program and where do I get them from Garmin? Sorry for my ignorance I'm new with GPS and any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,049 Posts
Register at my.garmin.com to begin with. If you need further help call Garmin at the number in your literature. I've had excellent results with their tech support.

·
Registered
627 Posts
There should be a map on the Garmin out of the box (I have the 2455LMT).

Have you gone online to register your Garmin at their website? Connect the GPS to the computer using the USB cord. Go here..

https://my.garmin.com

Register as a user and register your GPS.
Once you're signed in, click on the MyDashboard tab and download the "communicator".
Once that's done, the website will look at your GPS and tell you what maps you have loaded, if an upgrade is available, etc.

Garmin's process for getting these things updated out of the box is kind of ridiculous for all the steps and gyrations they put you through (I've done 3 this year) but once it's done, you're good to go.

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
Mapsource?

When I bought my eTrex 20 it appeared that Mapsource is old and you should be using Basecamp these days.

I have only a useless base map on the eTrex20, and am still divided over messing withdownloads vs just buying the MicroSD chip with the state(s) that I want on it.

On 3 of 4 computers that I had access to Basecamp would not install - grrr.

But the eTrex itself is fine as a basic GPS tool.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #5