Strom Trooper banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, one thing I am NOT good at is electrical. I installed the Tusk seat heater kit on my new Seat Concepts seat - see my review thread. The main leads are flat loops that would fit perfectly on the battery. There is an on/off switch with two power levels - so if I did hook it up directly to the battery and REMEMBER to turn it off when the bike is off I'm fine. However the instructions say its better to hook it up to power that is activated by the ignition switch for obvious reasons. Does anyone know if there is a circuit that will work only when the bike is running and how much power it can handle?

·
Premium Member
782 Posts
There are lots of switched power circuits. One of the most commonly used is the tail marker light (probably because Eastern Beaver sells a ready made harness to tap into it - although I'm not positive he has one for the newest gen DL650 yet). The switched circuits generally don't handle a ton of load and a portion of the load capacity is already dedicated to the bike's original circuit, so the prevailing advice is to use the switched circuit to activate the coil on a relay (low power - basically negligible) so that the relay's main taps (high power) can deliver straight from the battery to your device. Then when you turn off the key, the relay opens and cuts the power to your added gizmo(s).

Eastern Beaver also sells ready made add-on fuse blocks with switched and non switches taps so you can add all your electronic farkles through it. Nice concept, a bit pricey though. If you plan on adding several electrical farkles, you should look into it and decide if it would be worth it for you.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Depending on what you are planning to add, consider Eastern Beaver's PC8 and harness. This will give you 6 fused circuits that switch on with the ignition, and two that are always on. Plenty of power for additional lights, electronics, etc.

·