StromTrooper banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the V Strom. I got my bike about 2 1/2 weeks ago (07 DL1k) and was able to put about 600 miles on this past weekend which is a good weekend for me.
The problem I am having is that I am getting a huge burning sensation across the back of my neck and shoulders, mostly over my left shoulder.
I have installed Rox Risers for the bars which raised the bars about 1 1/2" and moved them back about 1". I also use a small back rest that I find helps me sit straighter, not so hunched over. I am 6'6" tall.
I was wondering if anyone else has experienced the same kind of issue and what they were able to do to help it. Are my bars still not high enough? I am finding now that the burning sensation happens even after a short ride.
Last thing. If someone could tell me how to insert pictures in a thread I would appreciate it.
Thanks

·
Official Stromtrooper.com Sponsor
5,424 Posts
I was wondering if anyone else has experienced the same kind of issue and what they were able to do to help it. Are my bars still not high enough? I am finding now that the burning sensation happens even after a short ride.
Thanks
I found the V-Strom to have bars too low and too far forward. I am 6' but with a 32" inseam so tall from the seat up. The bar risers help on my Wee strom, I had to put ATV bars on the Vee because of the Scott's steering dampner. Ideally I would raise the bar and bring it to the rear even more, but I am out of brake line slack. A set of bars that angled the handgrip area more rearward would be helpfull also. I don't really get the "burn" you describe anymore, but my elbows are too straight. I will say the bar setup I have now is about perfect for riding while standing on the pegs. At 6'6" you may have to go to longer brake lines and put a taller bar on with the risers to get it where you are comfortable.

·
Registered
249 Posts