StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody...this is my first post as a brand new member of the forum! I'm not an avid motorcyclist...in fact I haven't ridden since I was just out of college almost 10 years ago. I've been eyeballing V-Stroms for the last five years or so, and I feel like I'm finally ready to make a purchase (being newly divorced and all!).

Here are my questions:

1. I'm 6'2" and about 230 pounds...do I need to worry about getting a 1000, or will the 650 work for me?

2. Considering the above question, what if I want to ride two up? One of my primary objectives is to do a good amount of touring. My girlfriend weighs about 120 pounds. Also, I'm currently living in Alaska...you can imagine some of the mountain roads I'll be tackling!

3. If I decide to go with the 650, how much should I be worried about getting the ABS?

4. There's currently a 2007 DL650 (no ABS) for sale in my town. It has 4200 miles and I know it was well maintained. Is $4700 a good price for that bike?

Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
211 Posts
I think the 650 would be a good bike for your size, two up touring maybe not. The 650 you are looking at seems like a good price with great mileage. If I could have got an '11 without ABS I would have but they are not available without it now.

·
Registered
4,329 Posts
650 two up AND loaded is no problem.

ABS is well worth having [if you don't like ABS on dirt there is a switch modification available after market].

My BMW R1150GS had ABS and so does my Wee, would not have a bike without it these days [the Wee is bike #14 or #15, memory fades :headbang: ].

·
Registered
6,702 Posts
Plus on the above

If you imagine lots of dirt roads then
the less weight
lower smooth power
ABS very good if your not expert

On any not pavement the 650 has plenty of power

though my tweeked 1000 is giving some power wheelies :)

·
Registered
18 Posts
1000 seems too big for me