StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i have been riding my wee everyday (almost) for the past 3 months or so. and i have primarily used two different brands of gas. one being chevron, and the other being Safeway gas (for those of you not from the northwest/west coast it's a grocery store brand gas). I usually run Safeway gas since it's on my way home and averages at least $0.30 cheaper a gallon than chevron. side note for me is that my fill-ups are usually ~4.8 gallons every time (once a week). i should also note that my bikes always run premium (92 octane).

but...i have ran chevron a few times now, and noticed my wee does not like the "better" gas. for example, when i start the bike in the morning and afternoon it doesn't start as easily, and it really idles down low and idles rough for the first minute or so, then when riding it feels like i have less power and when accelerating the bike will "choke" out and chug a little. when i have the Safeway gas in her, she runs fine with no complaints? I have ran chevron in other cages of mine in the past with no problems either, and even my old Harley i had never complained.

has anyone else experienced something like this? just seems weird that the cheap stuff runs better than the more expensive name brand. :confused:

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
Can you try Chevron from a different gas station? That station may have water leaking into their tank or some other problem.

·
Registered
556 Posts
Have you tried the lower octane? Your bike doesn't need the 92. I use 87 and haven't had a problem with any gas *knock* *knock*.

·
Registered
988 Posts