StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been listening to music while riding since 1982. Recently I've begun to wonder if I'm significantly compromising my safety. Not hearing a police siren recently caused a near crash that only my ABS prevented.

Any thoughts pro or con out there. Please provide your opinion/experience.

I love to listen to my ipod when riding but am weighing its safety reduction quotient.

Jim Jones

K7 Wee

·
Living the Stereotype
11,543 Posts
Not Safe in Maryland

In Maryland its only safe if you're listening in mono, stereo is unsafe. This is according to your state legislature:

http://home.ama-cycle.org/amaccess/laws/result.asp?state=md

Seriously, it's probably less safe listening to music than not.
Are you using earplugs or in-helmet speakers?
I listen to music with crappy-sounding headphone speakers mounted in my noisy modular helmet about half the time and I don't feel any less safe.

I'm glad the ABS worked for you and helped to avoid a collision.
ABS was one of the deciding factors in my Wee purchase.

·
Premium Member
418 Posts
I only listen when I'm not in a town or busy area. I find it's either too distracting or, as you pointed out, masks things I should be listening for.

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,048 Posts
I listen to music on long interstate trips only, not around town or on fun roads.

·
Registered
1,825 Posts
Its all about paying attention.
If it was just about listening the Deaf would note be able to drive.
Mike

·
Registered
213 Posts
I use my Ipod when riding. I have a set of ear buds that have a slide volume control on the ear bud wire so I can more easly lower the volume without fumbling with the Ipod in my pocket.
If I don't have the ipod going I put ear plugs in to reduce the wind noise so I don't see a real problem with safety.

·
Registered
148 Posts