StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
This will be in an upcoming issue of Motorcycle Mojo.

by David Booth

It was my mom who got me into motorcycling.

Not my dad: My mom.

Yeah, it surprised me too. I had been pleading for a minibike for some two years — an eternity to a 13-year-old with ADD — with the intensity, like all 13-year-olds chasing their dreams, defending the indefensible. It didn’t look to be going very well. My father hated motorcycles — absolutely hated ‘em — refusing to even acknowledge my plaintive “I wanna a minibike” while my mother, well, like all mothers of now long bygone era, just said, “Go ask your father.” In other words, I wasn’t getting a minibike.

Until, well, I did. I remember it well. Somehow it has been wheeled into the downstairs’ living room and put near — not under; it was a small hose — the Christmas tree. I knew what it was right away, its little 10-inch wheels sticking out beneath reindeer wrapping, its high mount “scrambler” exhaust clearly visible under Christmas decoration. It was a Candy Gold CT70, Honda’s — and therefore the industry’s — predominant minibike, 72 cubic centimetres of salvation and skinned knees.

It was quickly apparent who was to thank for this sudden blessing. My dad made it very clear, as I began its undressing, that his optic nerves were offended by the mere appearance of motorized two wheeler. Or as he put it, in a tone that usually preceded corporal punishment, “I don’t want to ever see that fucking thing!”