Strom Trooper banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Farkle Purchasing System
1,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Some thoughts on neckwear:

I bought one of these about 2 weeks ago. Having worn it for all riding since then, I wish I'd bought one when I started riding, last October. It's that good.

The Multi-Cool makes riding so, so much more comfortable. If you have ever found your riding jacket irritates your neck, or are looking for a way to stay somewhat cool in the desert, I don't think there is a better deal going.

This thing solved two problems at once.

One was that my Helite airbag vest was rubbing against my neck, especially when I turned my head, which got really really old on long trips. The vest material is stiff and a little rough, so it doesn't feel great on my neck and is a little distracting. With the Multi-Cool on, I can't even feel the vest touching my neck. All I feel is cool comfort.

Two was that I was getting ridiculously overheated in my gear. I haven't wanted to purchase a mesh riding jacket, both because it's not in the budget, and because I've read that air mesh is actually a terrible idea in the desert. As long as the Multi-Cool is wet, I stay much cooler than I would otherwise. It works a lot better than my previous solution - a soaked hand towel - because it stays in place much better, so that air is forced to pick up some moisture as it hits me.

It's true that my jacket, a Tourmaster Transition 4, has a zip-in neck cuff thing. While it is windproof and keeps the vest edges off my neck, the collar is stifling to wear in the heat, so I don't.

Columbia sells a similar neck gaiter, the Omni-Freeze Zero. I almost bought one of those, but the Multi-Cool is about half the price. Maybe the Omni-Freeze is better, I don't know.

If you wear an Omni-Freeze when riding, I'd like to hear from you.