StromTrooper banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding more gravel lately, and after washing the rear wheel i noticed one of the spoke is very loose. not just a different tone then the others, I can shake it around, its that loose.

It's my first time dealing with spoked wheels. Bike has 4000 km on it. Does anyone here have a good guide on tightening it back up? How much torque? or should I avoid messing with it and bring it to the dealer. it might be covered by the warranty but i would prefer learning how to fix it myself.

Thanks! Pic just for fun,
Tire Sky Wheel Cloud Plant

·
Registered
2011 650 V-Strom with ABS
880 Posts
If the wheel is pretty true, you can just tighten it back up to the approximate tension of the others. Ping the other spokes with a plastic screwdriver handle. That approximate tone is a pretty good guide as you tighten the loose one.

If the wheel is not true, trueing it up is not a trivial job, but not rocket science either. Plenty of videos on Y-Tube if it comes to that.

A proper jig makes a big difference, but it's not too hard to make one.

The quick and dirty method just to get a general idea is to put it up on a service stand and use a sharpie held against the frame. Have your buddy spin the tire up a few times while you creep up to the rim with your sharpie. Once it starts marking the rim you can get an idea how much runout and eccentricity there is.

I doubt it's out of true very much. They are less fussy than a bicycle since you don't have rim brakes to worry about.

·
Premium Member
2,580 Posts
I've been riding more gravel lately, and after washing the rear wheel i noticed one of the spoke is very loose. not just a different tone then the others, I can shake it around, its that loose.