StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone:

As I am new to this bike, is their a common list of tools or spare parts that are normally recommended be carried at all times ?

I did purchase the factory service manual for my new to me 2009 650 with less than 19K.

Thank You

·
Premium Member
3,505 Posts
That list can vary depending on need and personality. Some guys carry way to many tools for North America, while others just use the oem tool kit provided. I do a little of both, deleting some useless oem tools and adding my own.

-a set of metric allen's
-2 Motion Pro aluminium tire Spoons(spoon on one end, metric box wrench of your choice on the other...one of mine of is for the large rear axle nut)
-a compact metric ratchet set and sockets
-assortment of metric wrenches
-tire plug kit
-small compressor
-small roll ea of Gorilla tape and safety wire
-I always wear on my belt a Leartherman ChargeTTi including two complete bit sets(absolute lifesaver more than once)

Most go in a tool tube mounted behind the oem rack on the left side, the rest under the seat.

·
Registered
3,901 Posts
Hello Everyone:

As I am new to this bike, is their a common list of tools or spare parts that are normally recommended be carried at all times ?

I did purchase the factory service manual for my new to me 2009 650 with less than 19K.

Thank You

You want to prepare for the most likely event first, a flat tire. Get a string plug kit and a small compressor that you connect to the battery. You can't use the dash outlet for the compressor it will blow that fuse. Know how to fix the tire, watch vids practice on an old tire if you can.

You don't need or want to remove a wheel to fix a tire. There isn't a need anyway (with tubeless tires) unless you destroyed the sidewall but then you would need a new tire.