StromTrooper banner

Learned to rivet my first masterlink!

8485 Views 7 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  chicago
I come from the world of dirt.... dirt and clip style master links. This is my first time ever in 40 years messing with these high tech street bike chains.

So the V-Strom has 18,000 miles on it and has never gotten treated to a new chain. The chain suddenly needed adjusted after 3500 miles with no adjustment, and a week later needed it again and a week later again.... so I pulled her out of service, recomissioned the KLR to active duty and ordered the OEM RK X-Ring for $103.

It came it at Tracey's yesterday so I went and grabbed it after my doctors appointment in Moon. By the way, no more finger splint!

I inspected the sprockets to determine if I should order one or two new ones and determined that I was still fine with the OEM installed cogs.

I actually looked over the sprockets a couple weeks ago when I adjusted the chain the second time. They have a very slight sign of wear, but nothing worth getting excited over. It takes a real good eye to even know that they have any wear on the pressure side compared to the untouched or deceleration side.

So anyways, time to remove the OEM rivet on chain. I know many of riders argue over the best way to go about this. Some say grind the heads off the rivets and use a punch to pound the rivets back out. Others claim buying and utilizing the rivet tool is the best way. Others yet say to grind, then use the proper tool. I think they all road the short bus to school. As any fool would know, you take about 3.5 seconds out of your busy beer drinking evening and use the plasma cutter to delicately remove the chain!

This honestly is the only way to cut your chain off. Even if it is a clip style, this so fun and easy, you would still rather do this!