StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
I'm not an engineer but I can tell you one thing, the attachment to the bike is way too high. It should be about axle level.

·
Registered
436 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Those are great although having a hitch unsprung like the one going through the axle is a terrible idea.

Now have a look at this. It wasn't my idea, I'm just to cheap to buy the tested one.

·
Registered
3,481 Posts
Are those shocks loaded enough, and are they damping at all?

Static sag should be about 1/4-1/3 travel, or you're gonna have a bad time since the tire is only going to spend a small portion of the time on the ground.

Also, the rear section (the ladder-like bits) need some bracing to the, um... downtube(?) or it's just going to pivot around the swingarm.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Now we're getting somewhere. The tire is not leaving the ground, the shocks are pretty supple and adjustable via multiple holes for the upper mount. Would you expand on the pivot action that is mentioned? That is what's going on and I can't place where it's coming from. The section above the tire starts swaying and then the tail starts to whip violently as this swaying accelerates.

·
Registered
52 Posts
The reason everyone is right that says the attachment point for the trailer is to high is because the left and right movement is twice as more then if it was attached at the rear tire axel height. The movement is steering the trailer wheel causing it to sway. The sway is causing the bike to lean left and right. The trailer is counter weighting the bike so it will still track staight. The trailer will never be controllable mounted that high.

·
Registered
33 Posts