StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding ATVs (4 wheelers) for a few years now, and decided I want to get a nice street bike, well, dual sport kinda bike.
Me and a buddy plan to get an old used Honda Rebel 250 to learn on, and get our license with, and ride it for at least 4 months.
Then we plan on buying our first real bikes. I am strongly leaning toward the DL650, it seems to be everything I am wanting. Something I can ride to work daily, go on longer weekend rides, or maybe even several day rides. Something that can be setup to haul some gear, etc. Something that is good on poor paved roads with potholes, etc. I dont plan on taking if OFF road, but it could see some dirt and gravel roads, as I live in West Virginia, lots of hills and winding back roads.

My main concern is, since I am new to all this, will i be ok with the DL650?
After learning to ride on a Honda Rebel 250 for a few months, will I be biting off more than I can chew with the DL650? On average, compared to other bikes, how easy or hard is it to ride?
BTW, I am 5'-11" 190 lbs.

Thanks alot for the advice.
~John

·
Registered
609 Posts
Skip the Rebel and go straight to the 650. Take the safety foundation class where they teach on 250's to get you licencse. My first bike was a virago 750 and it was actually easier IMO than the small 250 they used in my class. The wee strom is so easy to ride, it wont be a handfull to learn on, yet it will let you grow as much as you want into the bike.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
The Wee will fit you perfectly, and yes, it's a VERY newb friendly choice.

Will echo above though....take a course first, invaluable.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I still need to look into it more, but yes there are training courses here, that are different than just going to the DMV and taking the test.