StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,459 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone been using Amsoil 10w40 motorcycle specific oil? I'm told that it doesn't contain friction modifiers and is specifically designed for wet clutch use. I'd like some opinions before I make the switch.

Thanks for your help.

SS

·
Premium Member
4,417 Posts
I use it. Buy it by the case and it is cheaper. My motor hasn't seized yet so I guess it works.

·
Premium Member
565 Posts
I use it in my V-Strom, Shadow and Goldwing. It is very popular ( at least according to Goldwing forums ) with many people. I have had no clutch issues and actually felt improvement with smoother shifts on my Shadow and Goldwing. It does cost a lot, find a dealer nearby and buy a case of gallons.

·
Registered
168 Posts
I've been using Amsoil products for the last five years or so in my cars and always had good results. When I saw that my local KTM dealership had it in stock, I told them to use it for my Wee when I took it in for service. I've had no problems so far, so I'll probably stick with it for a while.

·
Premium Member
4,254 Posts
Has anyone been using Amsoil 10w40 motorcycle specific oil? I'm told that it doesn't contain friction modifiers and is specifically designed for wet clutch use. I'd like some opinions before I make the switch.

Thanks for your help.

SS
Been using it for 2 years. Change it at around every 4,000 miles.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Been using it for 2 years. Change it at around every 4,000 miles.
I won't use anything else in my bikes.

Please send me your used oil. I'll put it back in the bike and run it another 6K.

Changing out Amsoil every 4000 miles is throwing lots of good money away. The stuff will easily last 8-10 thousand miles. I change it once a year or every 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. I've had the old stuff tested coming out after 10K and it's as good as when it went in.

YMMV if you're riding a lot of dust and dirt roads...

·
Premium Member