StromTrooper banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Spent the July 4th weekend in Emporium, PA. Rode there on Friday from Southern MD. Had a blast.

Hit a huge slowdown on I-70 W toward Breezewood. Punched "Detour" on the Zumo and off I went into the hinterland. Saw some great country that I'd never seen before, and bypassed the mess headed for Breezewood.

Headed home on Sunday by just punching "Where to?>Home>Go!" Simple. Man, I'm a big fan of simple. Off I went again, without a hitch or hiccup.

If you're on the fence about buying a GPS, I'd say "Do it." I'm no duty expert, but they sure are convenient, and handy, and everything else a map isn't.

The various Zumo features are way cool, too. I'm still a novice, but my recent trip taught me a lot, and there's more to learn. I'm extremely impressed, and very satisfied with my 550.

So, if you're leaning toward a GPS of any flavor, stop leaning and just "JUMP." I think you'll like'em, too. ;)

·
What Kinda Bike Is That?
5,520 Posts
I could never do the riding that I do and cover the ground that I cover, in the places that I go, without a GPS, (My flavor is a Mio C-520 mounted up on the dashboard). I do carry paper maps as back up.

From navigating the willy-wags, to finding campgrounds, motels and gas stations, to navigating cities, there is no, more efficient method of "getting there" then with a GPS. I have also helped other motorists and fellow bikers find their way with my GPS.

I don't leave home without it

·
Registered
105 Posts
Other fun use for GPS

I love being in some "place" and then having my GPS find me the 'shortest route' to some other distant 'place'. This spontaneous routing has put me on more out of the way back road/path/goat tracks than I would ever find on my own. Even roads with 'No Exit' signs at the entrance have turned out to have an exit .. mind you a car could never get through but the Vee always has.

pilgrim

·
Registered
244 Posts