StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks:

Your resident Stromtrooper noob here asking lots of questions for my upcoming trip to S. America next month!

I have been riding around Seattle and realized that I'm about to do be doing *a lot* of riding; and so I'd like to reduce the wind buffeting I get smacked with especially if I ride with good posture (no slumped over shoulders).

I have the Givi windscreen TwistedThrottle.com : Givi Windscreen (Suzuki DL1000 & DL650 V-Strom, '04-) - Givi D260ST which is 22.4" tall. When riding the windscreen is a maybe an inch lower than the bottom of my helmet when I'm looking straight ahead.

1) Would it be better to buy the 'Madstad' bracket then buying a new screen?
2) Is there a way to raise up the Givi windscreen without buying a bracket?
3) If I did get the Madstad; is it still compatible with Richland Rick's GPS mount?
2) There are various other windscreens for purchase such as Cee Baileys | Suzuki DL 1000 "The Perfect Strom" Windshield but have no idea which size might be right... is there a 'fitting' rule for windscreens where they should come up to a certain height on you?

·
Registered
297 Posts
The madstad bracket is a must. I am 6'5" and I got the bracket and windshield at the same time. I am still playing with the best setup but at any speed I can control the air to stay off me and the helmet or adjust things to have smoother air hit me. Either way riding is much more enjoyable.

·
$tromtrooper
2,378 Posts
6'4" and the Madstad made even the stock windshield tolerable. Even better with the Givi.

Running up the length of my Elka shock seems to have returned some high-speed buffeting. I might look into a laminar lip add-on at some point to quiet it even more, but still must be able to look over the screen.

Give the Madstad a try.

·
Registered
2,502 Posts